Posted in Posts

Marian Keyes

Name: Marian Keyes

Date of Birth: September 10, 1963

First book published: Watermelon, 1995 Watermelon

Most recent book published: The Mystery of Mercy Close, 2012

Best book (in my opinion): Last Chance Saloon. See it on Goodreads here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9298.Last_Chance_Saloon?ac=1

Why she loves to write: She went through a spell of alcoholism, and started writing short stories to cope with that. She sent these off to a publisher, and mentioned that she had been working on a novel, which he demanded to see. She finished it, and Watermelon became an instant success. She continues to write to help her through her long bout of depression. And, of course, because she’s really good at it!

Fun fact!: In her own words: “When I left school I went to college, got a law degree, then put it to good use by going to London and getting a job as a waitress. Eventually I upped and got respectable and got a job in an accounts office, where I worked (I use the term oh-so-loosely) for a long, long, long time. I thought I’d be there forever, that I’d end up as a grumpy old woman with forty cats and that small boys would throw stones at me. What I certainly had no notion of doing was becoming a writer”

Why we love her: Because her books are amazing! They’re all based around depression, or other dark subjects, but lightened with humour. Since she’s experienced it herself, the depression aspects are also really realistic. Her characters always feel real, like they could walk down the street and I’d recognise them. My heart always bleeds for them. And there’s always a little twist in the end. You expect the main girl to end up with one guy, she’ll end up with someone else. You expect her to never leave her new home, and she ends up happily married in Ireland. Oh yeah, Ireland. All her books are set there, so you can read the already-great books in awesome accents.

Marian Keyes

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

Leave a Reply

