Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

The Time Traveller’s Wife

Audrey Niffenegger’s dazzling debut is the story of Clare, a beautiful, strong-minded art student, and Henry, an adventuresome librarian, who have known each other since Clare was six and Henry was thirty-six, and were married when Clare was twenty-three and Henry thirty-one. Impossible but true, because Henry is one of the first people diagnosed with Chrono-Displacement Disorder: his genetic clock randomly resets and he finds himself misplaced in time, pulled to moments of emotional gravity from his life, past and future. His disappearances are spontaneous and unpredictable, and lend a spectacular urgency to Clare and Henry’s unconventional love story. That their attempt to live normal lives together is threatened by something they can neither prevent nor control makes their story intensely moving and entirely unforgettable.

Okay, this is only a little review because I’ve been feeling lazy, but here ya go!

The Time Traveler's Wife

Generally I don’t like time travel books at all. They’re so confusing to follow! Like “Henry had caught the cold I had 16 years ago”. What?
But I stuck it out with this one, because it was absolutely worth it. I am in love with Clare and Henry’s love. I was nervous every time he time travelled that this was the time something would go wrong. And yes, I cried at the end.
However, it wasn’t written amazingly well. Clare was, at times, a bit flat, and didn’t seem to have much of a personality. Charisse was waaaay worse. Like why did she even exist? And I felt the time travelling could have been a bit more chaotic. I mean, he kept his job all that time? He never went to jail? Clare just put up with it, and never even tried to change anything.
But overall, it was a very sweet book

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

Leave a Reply

