Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Slated by Teri Terry

Kyla’s memory has been erased, her personality wiped blank, her memories lost for ever.

She’s been Slated.

The government claims she was a terrorist and that they are giving her a second chance – as long as she plays by their rules. But echoes of the past whisper in Kyla’s mind. Someone is lying to her, and nothing is as it seems. Who can she trust in her search for the truth?

Slated front cover

I had high hopes for this book because of the plot. It sounded like exactly the kind of thing I would enjoy – dystopian world where young criminals get their minds wiped, and have to start over their lives. But the writing let it down.

I have a rule that if its not good in the first 50 pages you should give up. But for some stupid reason I didn’t listen to my own rule on this one. This book didn’t get interesting until the last few chapters. All the rest of it was slow, and kind of repetitive in a weird one. Even though she changed a lot as a person, the activities were all the same. There was the ever looming threat of Lorders, and a few disappearances, which you’d think would make the book exciting, right? Wrong. I found it hard to find the motorisation to keep reading

Then there was the actual words. Why were none of them contracted?!? I felt like with the Slateds there was a point, like it was showing how they weren’t entirely part of society, but then everyone else started doing it too! Or, worse, they would swap halfway through the sentence, which made it feel very disjointed.

Then there was Ben. Their whole relationship felt fake and anticlimactic and pointless. And his personality changed way too suddenly and dramatically to seem real to me.

Overall, this book gets 3 stars, purely because of the interesting ending

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “Slated by Teri Terry

Leave a Reply

