Posted in Posts

When I Was A Girl

There are always those books that shape you as a person, and change who you want to be. Here are the top ten I think affected me most when I was younger.

Best Children's Books

10. Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery. I wanted to be Anne so so so much. She was, I suppose, one of my first heroines I looked up to. Plus, she got me talking to my Gran, even if it was (and still is!) mostly just about books

9. Mog Series by Judith Kerr. Mog got me obsessed with cats, unsurprisingly. And I think the last one was my first taste of a book not ending happily ever after, and ending in death instead. Oh, how much books have changed now…

8. How To Eat Fried Worms by Thomas Rockwell. This book got me closer with my brother, because it was one of the very few books we both read. Plus it made me feel more comfortable about reading boys books instead of just girls all the time

7. Dr Seuss books. I know I was meant to be choosing single books, but every single one of his books were amazing and fun and encouraged me to read

6. Each Peach Pear Plumb by Janet Alhberg. I loved this being read to me before bed, and my mum and I still know all the words. I was at the kind of age where this influenced me to learn how to read

5. The Gymnasts by Elizabeth Levy.  This made me start gymnastics, surprisingly enough. Even though I wasn’t very good at it, I had so much fun! And, weirdly, I started being interested in Barbies, because they became my gymnasts. I used the clothes horse for my bars. I don’t know why…

4. The Babysitter’s Club by Ann M. Martin. I guess this developed my love of children. I really wanted my own babysitter’s club, and now I babysit a lot! So in a way I got what I wanted, just not quite as big…

3. Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilding. I had this desperate urge to live in the ‘wild’ like Laura did. I pretended by best friend was blind so she could be Mary and we could be sisters. I think this is what got me into Girl Guiding, because I thought camps would be like how they lived.

2. The Tale of Samuel Whiskers by Beatrix Potter. Maybe this made me a psychopath. Maybe this developed my weird love of bad guys. All I know is I demanded this book before every single bed time every single night and was not happy until I got it.

1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling. I know, it’s unoriginal. But they taught me so much. Hermione taught me it’s okay to be a nerd, Harry taught me it’s okay to want to save people, and Ron taught me to always come back. I don’t have enough words to describe how much these books changed my life.

harry_potter_generation

 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

Leave a Reply

