Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Tuck Everlasting

Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt. Summary via Goodreads:

Doomed to – or blessed with – eternal life after drinking from a magic spring, the Tuck family wanders about trying to live as inconspicuously and comfortably as they can. When ten-year-old Winnie Foster stumbles on their secret, the Tucks take her home and explain why living forever at one age is less a blessing that it might seem. Complications arise when Winnie is followed by a stranger who wants to market the spring water for a fortune.

Tuck Everlasting

Has anyone seen the movie for this? I can’t decide if it will be good or if it will ruin the book for me.

I absolutely adore this book. I first read it years ago, when I was just a little girl, and I decided to re-read it again now that I’m older. It’s still just as great as it was then, which is so rare!

The Tuck’s are so sweet. I love Jesse and Myles’ childlike excitement at meeting Winnie, and how nervous they all are. Babbitt’s descriptions are beautiful. She describes life as a wheel, which I thought was a lovely concept. She also portrayed immortality as something we shouldn’t all want – in fact, as something we should shy away from. I found that aspect interesting, as immortality is usually portrayed as something wonderful. But that was the whole point of the book. We all think it would be amazing to live forever, but it wouldn’t. Their loss at the end shows that too.
But there were a few things that bothered me. Firstly, Jesse and Winnie’s relationship. A little girl, particularly one as cooped up as she is, is going to admire a handsome boy, of course. But Jesse’s fondness of her seemed more than brotherly, which with their age difference was a bit odd to me. Then there was their last meeting. That to me seemed way too much like they were in love, which is really just creepy. Then there was ‘the man in the yellow suit’. I feel like he should have been developed more, and taken more time to do things, instead of just a few pages. Plus, he was never named, which to me made him never seem like a real threat. Still, these things didn’t take away too much from the overall sweetness of the book. Plus, it is a children’s book, so it’s not like they’re going to be picking apart plot holes like this, right?

 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

Leave a Reply

