Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Silver Shadows Review

Silver Shadows by Richelle Mead

Bloodlines book 5

Summary from Goodreads

Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets—and human lives.
In The Fiery Heart, Sydney risked everything to follow her gut, walking a dangerous line to keep her feelings hidden from the Alchemists.
Now in the aftermath of an event that ripped their world apart, Sydney and Adrian struggle to pick up the pieces and find their way back to each other. But first, they have to survive.
For Sydney, trapped and surrounded by adversaries, life becomes a daily struggle to hold on to her identity and the memories of those she loves. Meanwhile, Adrian clings to hope in the face of those who tell him Sydney is a lost cause, but the battle proves daunting as old demons and new temptations begin to seize hold of him. . . .
Their worst fears now a chilling reality, Sydney and Adrian face their darkest hour in this heart-pounding fifth installment in the New York Times bestselling Bloodlines series, where all bets are off

 

Spoiler Alert

This was so disappointing. I was so looking forward to reading this after the cliffhanger of the last one, but it really let me down.

I loved re-education. It was everything I expected it to be – evil and mean and twisted. The psychopathic part of me loved all the torture. The people inside were great. Emma was maybe a tiny bit predictable, but that’s okay. And I loved mopey Adrian. At times he got a weeny bit annoying, with all his drinking to take his mind off things, but for the most part it was sort of cute. But as soon as Sydney got rescued, it all went downhill.
Firstly, the wedding. I mean, it was a good idea, but as Sheridan said, get waaaay away first. Of course they caught you! Why are you surprised by this?!? Anyway, you’re only 19! Yes, they’re madly in love, but you can’t say at that age if you’re going to last forever. Particularly when the circumstances you met in are very different to the real world. Lots of couples get excited by the idea of a secret relationship, and as soon as they start being a real couple it all falls to pieces. Realistically, it wouldn’t work out, but I’m sure with this series it will.
Then the fight scenes. The helicopter on the roof, the water in the fountain… I mean really, could it get any more cliche? Oh, and all in a wedding dress of course. Adrian didn’t think to buy a change of clothes on his expedition just in case. Good thing she found those shoes really. I suppose that was one thing Sydney did well. She was clever, and a good actor, even if Adrian was useless. 
Finally, the ending. A cliffhanger, again. It’s really only effective once before it just gets annoying. And it was a kidnapping, again. She couldn’t even have thought of something new and exciting.
So I’ll read the next one, I suppose, but I certainly won’t be buying it after how disappointing this one was.

 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

One thought on “Silver Shadows Review

Leave a Reply

