Posted in Posts

Read It And Weep

Top 10 books to read when you just want to curl up in a little ball and sob your heart out. I’m trying my best not to have any spoilers!

10. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling. Everyone dies. EVERYONE. If the first death doesn’t make you cry, then the next one will, or the one after that, or the one after that…

9. Sadie by Jane Elliot. The abuse in this is horrific, but the psychopath part of me loves it. And the softie part of me makes me cry.

8. My Sister Jodie by Jacqueline Wilson. Jodie is the absolute best sister there is. Pearl is so sweet and awkward. Harley is just amazing. I fell in love with all of them, so this one breaks my heart.

7. The Boy in Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne. Again, a lot of faults, and I know so many people who hated it, but they’re just kids… And I love war books! 

6. The Third Day; the Frost by John Marsden. Part of the Tomorrow When the War Began series, and by far the saddest. 

5. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson. Whyyyyyy. This was AWFUL. The book makes me cry, the movie makes me cry, and no matter how many times I read it it always breaks my heart. 

4. Anybody Out There by Marian Keyes. I adore anything Marian writes, and I love the whole Walsh family. Actually, Anna was one of my favourites, after Helen. So yeah, this one upsets me. 

3. Dolphin Crossing by Jill Paton Walsh. Again, war and kids is a terrible yet wonderful combination. 

2. My Sister’s Keeper. It’s sad right from the beginning. I’ve never managed to put myself through the pain of the whole thing, since I know how it ends, and I am so impressed with all of you that can. 

1. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. They’re in love. They have cancer. It was always going to be heartbreaking, wasn’t it? And it’s absolutely always guaranteed to make me cry

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

Leave a Reply

