Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Obsidian

OBSIDIAN by Jennnifer L. Armentrout
Starting over sucks. 
When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, outhouses, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring. Until I spotted my hot neighbor with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.
And then he opened his mouth. 
Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.
The hot alien living next door marked me. 
You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and the mark he left on me has me lit up like Las Vegas strip to the bad guys. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.
If I don’t kill him first, that is. 

I was recommended this by one of my best friends. Usually, her taste is brilliant. And I’ve heard such high praise for this book, so I feel very let down.

Daemon’s just… Horrible. He’s the stereotypical ‘bad boy’ – hot, mean, and confusingly flirtatious. There’s the sexual tension, the mysterious secrecy, the protectiveness over the girl he’s never met. He fits all the clichés. He reminded me way too much of Edward Cullen. So naturally, Kat falls for him. Why wouldn’t you, right? He’s only trying to make your life a living hell!
Then, shock horror, we find out he’s an alien. No one has ever realised this before, but everyone knows they’re ‘different’. They live in a tiny town where everyone knows everything about each other, apart from this one big ‘family’ that all date each other. Not weird at all, right? Why question it? Well, question it maybe once or twice, then conclude that you’ll never know, boo hoo, the end. Then new girl pops up for a week or so, and she just somehow finds out everything about them. They know they shouldn’t tell anyone about what they are. The last time they did it ended very, very badly. But this girl’s different. She’s new, and you just know you can trust her with your life. So hey, let’s tell her all our secrets!  As you do, of course. I can’t be the only one noticing how similar this is to Twilight, right?
The only scene I liked in this book was the very end. Finally, Kat does something for herself, and almost erased all her previous faults. Almost. I won’t spoil it for you by telling her what she does, even though I really really hope you aren’t going to make yourselves suffer by reading it.
I think Dee was the book’s saving grace. She was a bit cliché, of course. She lost her temper over Daemon eating her ice cream, which really was pathetic and way too exaggerated to even be funny. But she’s lovely, honest she is. She just needs to learn to stand up to her brother!

Really, I don’t know why I bothered reading through the whole book. It was obvious pretty early on how it was all going to end up. And I’ve read Twilight, I know how that ended, and this was pretty much the same. So please, followers, do not put yourselves through this pain. For your own sakes.

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

One thought on “Obsidian

Leave a Reply

